RSS Feed

Second week of summmer

So this past week of my “adult summer” has been rather fine. I have made an account for an Etsy store. Why do I want and etsy store, well I’ve been trying my hand at sewing, with a sewing machine and everything.

It’s a hobby that I want to get in to. It’s also a great way for me to be creative. I clearly remember being jealous of the sewing machine my cousin received on her 10th birthday. It was a small white/pink, very plastic-ey sewing machine that was made for little girls. A toy in other words. But I coveted that little sewing machine because I knew I would never get one. Even if I told my mother that I would LOVE  to have a small sewing machine for my birthday, she would have forgotten all about it 4 months later. Any who…

About a year or so ago, I was reading all these creative sewing blogs, going to Barnes & Noble to read crafting books, and spending countless hours on Etsy. I decided that I would start sewing plush softie toys. But first and formost I needed a real sewing machine. So I went on Craigslist to see how much sewing machines were going for, and I got one for $70, brand new and everything.

I’m not into the softies toys any longer, but more into making other things, even if those other things have not been completely made known to me yet. I love baby stuff; just ask my husband. I love everything from those cute, tiny, baby outfits, to swaddling blankets, to anything else you might find at Babies”R”Us. I’ve always been like that.

(I also love everything that has to do with weddings; again, just ask my husband).

So now I just have to figure out what to make. That’s my next step.

But I’ve hit a bump in the road, I really messed up my sewing machine yesterday making a cute little dress for my sister-in-law. She is a year and a half old.  So now I have to get new sewing needles, because mine have broken, and try to figure how to fix my sewing machine. Which I have no idea how to do. Wish me luck!

The dress on the left is from Craftiness is not optional. The dress on the right is Milly’s dress.

Leave a Reply

